This site uses cookies to provide a better experience. Continuing navigation accept the use of cookies by us OK

COVID-19 (Coronavirus) emergency



COVID-19 (Coronavirus) emergency

Last updated on 2 July 9 am (Queensland time)


Since the start of the emergency, the Italian government has adopted measures which are necessary for public health protection, and that are based on scientific assessments and following the principle of maximum prevention.

The DPCM (Government Decree) of May 17, 2020 introduced the so-called "phase 2" with various developments, in particular regarding the resumption of some production activities and the movement of people within Italy.

Since the 1st of July of 2020 all restrictions on travel to and from Italy will be lifted with regard to Australia and reasons for travelling from Australia to Italy shall not be any longer provided/justified. Travellers from Australia (and in general from all Countries other than EU Member States, Schengen Member States, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Island, Andorra, Principality of Monaco, Republic of San Marino or Vatican City State) will still be required to observe a 14-day quarantine period in self-isolation, unless they fall in one of the exemptions (please check here

For more information on "PHASE 2", please click on the following link: Frequently asked questions on the measures adopted by the Italian government


From July 1, travel to Italy by the following persons will be allowed: Italian and EU citizens; foreign nationals residing in Australia (and other 14 Countries), foreign nationals residing in an EU Member State; household members of EU citizens and foreign nationals residing in an EU Member States (household members include spouse, civil or cohabiting partner, dependent children aged below 21 years and other dependent household members). People travelling to Italy from Australia (and in general from all Countries other than EU Member States, Schengen Member States, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Island, Andorra, Principality of Monaco, Republic of San Marino or Vatican City State) will still be required to observe a 14-day quarantine period in self-isolation that starts immediately after entering the country. You are only allowed to reach the address where you have chosen to self-isolate, by the shortest possible route and without using any means of public transport other than the means used to travel to Italy (airport transit is allowed without leaving the airport area). Please make sure that you have the following self-certification (last updated 30 June) ready to show it to Italian border authorities and the carrier's staff.

Italian nationals returning to Italy and foreigners in Italy-FAQItalian nationals returning to Italy and foreigners in Italy-FAQ

If you are an Australian citizen or a permanent resident you cannot leave Australia due to COVID-19 restrictions unless you have an exemption (you do not need an exemption if for example you are ordinarily resident in a country other than Australia, i.e. you’ve spent more time outside Australia than inside for the last 12 to 24 months). Please check here and refer to the rules of the Australian Authorities.

Transit through Italy, from one foreign country to another, to return home along the fastest possible route and without intermediate stopovers that are not strictly necessary, is allowed. Transit passengers are not required to self-isolate provided that they are travelling through Italy within 36 hours. If you are on a short stopover between flights and do not leave the airport you are free to board a connecting flight to any other domestic or international destination. You may rent a car (with or without a driver) or use a taxi. Before boarding the airplane/ferry to Italy, you will be required to complete a self-certification form clearly indicating that you are only passing through Italy on your way to your final destination in a foreign country. If you have developed, or develop Covid-19 symptoms while in Italy, you must immediately notify the competent health authorities, by calling the dedicated helplines and await instructions. Before undertaking any travel you are advised to search for information regarding travel restrictions in place in Italy, as well as in the countries of origin, transit and destination. When travelling through Italy you are advised to keep in touch with your consular authorities.

If you have a visa to Italy or have a doubt and want to postpone your travel please contact our visa office

Please find the following information of the Australian Authorities concerning entry to Italy 


From 9pm AEDT 20 March 2020, only Australian citizens, residents and immediate family members can travel to Australia.

All travellers to Australia are required to self-isolate for 14 days, in a Government nominated premise. From 1 July 2020, international travellers will be required to cover the costs of food and accommodation during quarantine. There are exemptions and opportunities to request a waiver.  urther information, including questions and answers, is available on Queensland Health’s website at

To slow the spread of the novel coronavirus (COVID-19), the Queensland Government implemented restricted entry to Queensland from 12:01am on Thursday, 26 March 2020. Since the 11th of April only Queensland residents, residents of border communities undertaking essential activities and those considered an ‘exempt person’ are allowed to enter Queensland via air, sea, rail or road from another State or Territory. They need to apply for a border pass. The Queensland Government informed that from 10 July Queensland borders will open to travellers from other states (except for Victoria) and travellers who have not been in Victoria.

For all transits through Queensland, including those that do not require leaving the airport, apply for a Queensland Entry Pass as an exempt person for transit purposes. Any passengers going into quarantine (for transits 8-72 hours) must also pass the health assessment on arrival at Brisbane Airport (i.e. not showing any symptoms of COVID-19) and adhere to social distancing and personal hygiene requirements. Please note that the situation remains fluid and that missions and travellers should check the Home Affairs website and relevant state and territory websites regularly to ascertain their requirements.

Strict border controls apply in the Northern Territory (NT) for all access points if you are not an essential traveller or one of the exempted categories.

Other Australian states have border restrictions, please check the official information:


Department of Home Affairs
Australian Government Department of Health

and (Australians are advised not to travel abroad)

The situation is changing continuously thus we recommend to monitor the abovementioned websites.